Sunday, March 9, 2008

Philippines Will Host the World 10-Ball Pool Championship!

World 10-Ball Pool Championship Graphic

The Philippines will host the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA) World 10-Ball Pool Championship for the next five years, beginning in 2008! The announcement was made at the Pantalan Restaurant in Manila, where the WPA, the Billiards and Snookers Congress of the Philippines (BSCP), and Raya Sports signed the agreement naming and making the Philippines The Philippines’ successful hosting of the 2006 and 2007 World Pool Championship is one of the key reasons for winning the bid. And the inaugural staging of the event will give the Philippines, one of the pool capitals of the world, the chance to brand this major pool championship as its own.

World 10-Ball Pool Championship Image

BSCP president Ernesto Fajardo and chairman Yen Makabenta also announced the decision to give up the third and final hosting rights to the World 9-ball Championship in favor of the World 10-ball Championship. The Philippines staged the World 9-ball Championship for the last two years, with Ronnie Alcano, aka The Volcano, winning in 2006. The WPA has set a minimum of 128 players to compete in the main draw of the 10-ball competition, but it anticipates over 200 players from more than 50 countries will be going to Manila to participate and try their very best. The WPA now has world championship events for all its disciplines, 8-Ball, 9-Ball, 10-Ball and 14.1. Through its partners, WPA has four world championship events to present each year to pool players with more than $1,000,000 prize money on offer.

World 10-Ball Pool Championship Graphic

The host country (Philippines) is anticipated to receive four to five wild card berths in the World 10-ball tournament. The wild card berths are likely to be given to the following Filipino pool players: 2006 Doha Asian Games 9-ball gold medalist Antonio Gabica (Gaga), 3rd International Pool Tour (IPT) 8-Ball Challenge Match winner Marlon Manalo (Marvelous), Leonardo Dodong Andam (The Rattlesnake), and Jeff de Luna (Jeff Bata). The World 10-Ball Pool Championship is slated for September 29 to October 5, 2008, with a total cash purse worth $400,000 (Php 16 million)! The champion will take home $100,000! The next 63 placers will also receive cash prizes. The host country will also give special prizes to players with the most number of golden breaks and consecutive run outs in the tournament! And oh! The World 10-Ball Competition is also open to female pool players! And I kid you not!

"It's 10-ball time with The AnitoKid!"

*Did you enjoy the post? Did you find it interesting?
You know what to do...:)

Add to Technorati Favorites

Get news and updates!
It's fast! It's free!
And I kid you not!

Enter your email address


It's always a runout at The Runout TV!